The Greatest Knight

ebook The Unsung Story of the Queen's Champion · William Marshal

By Elizabeth Chadwick

cover image of The Greatest Knight

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today
Libby_app_icon.svg

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg
LibbyApponDevice.png

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."—Historical Novels Review

Royal protector. Loyal servant. Forgotten hero.

12th century, England: A penniless young knight with few prospects, William Marshal is plucked from obscurity when he saves the life of Henry II's formidable queen, Eleanor of Aquitaine. In gratitude, she appoints him tutor to the heir to the throne, the volatile and fickle Prince Henry. But being a royal favorite brings its share of danger and jealousy as well as fame and reward.

A writer of uncommon historical integrity and accuracy, Elizabeth Chadwick resurrects the true story of one of England's greatest forgotten heroes in a captivating blend of fact and fiction. The Greatest Knight restores William Marshal to his rightful place at the pinnacle of the British Middle Ages, reflecting through him the triumphs, scandals, and power struggles that haven't changed in eight hundred years.

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, or Diana Gabaldon are sure to recognize The Greatest Knight as exceptional historical fiction, bringing medieval Britain to brilliant life.

More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal:

The Greatest Knight

The Scarlet Lion

For the King's Favor

Templar Silks

To Defy a King

Available to buy

The Greatest Knight