The Complete Tales of My Landlord (Illustrated Edition)

ebook Old Mortality, Black Dwarf, The Heart of Midlothian, The Bride of Lammermoor, A Legend of Montrose

By Walter Scott

cover image of The Complete Tales of My Landlord (Illustrated Edition)

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

"Tales of my Landlord" is a series of novels by Sir Walter Scott that form a subset of the Waverley Novels. Of these novels, The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor have been the most successful and Old Mortality is considered by modern critics to be among Scott's best work. They were so called, because they were supposed to be tales collected from the fictional landlord of the Wallace Inn at Gandercleugh. This is gone into in great depth in the introduction to The Black Dwarf. They were supposed to reflect aspects of Scottish regional life. Table of Contents: OLD MORTALITY BLACK DWARF THE HEART OF MIDLOTHIAN THE BRIDE OF LAMMERMOOR A LEGEND OF MONTROSE COUNT ROBERT OF PARIS CASTLE DANGEROUS Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832) was a Scottish historical novelist, playwright and poet. He was the first modern English-language author to have a truly international career in his lifetime, with many contemporary readers in Europe, Australia, and North America. His novels and poetry are still read, and many of his works remain classics of both English-language literature and of Scottish literature. Famous titles include Ivanhoe, Rob Roy, The Lady of the Lake, Waverley, The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor.

Available to buy

Amazon logo
The Complete Tales of My Landlord (Illustrated Edition)