The Flight of the Heron

ebook The Jacobite Trilogy

By D. K. Broster

cover image of The Flight of the Heron

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:


Set during the Jacobite uprising of 1745 under Bonnie Prince Charlie, The Flight of the Heron is the first of Broster's Jacobite Trilogy.

The fortunes Ewen Cameron, a young Highland laird in the service of the Prince, and that of Major Keith Windham, a world-weary cynic of a soldier in the English army, become linked when a Highlander with the second sight tells Ewen that the flight of a heron will lead to five meetings with an Englishman who is fated both to do him a great service and to cause him great grief.

As Bonnie Prince Charlie's ill-fated campaign winds to its bitter end, the prophecy is proven true—and through many dangers and trials, Ewen and Keith—opposites in almost every way—find they have one thing in common: both are willing to sacrifice everything for their honour.

The Flight of the Heron