Complete Works of Elizabeth von Arnim. Volume1. (12 Books). Illustrated

ebook The Enchanted April, The Solitary Summer, The Benefactress, Vera, In the Mountains, Princess Priscilla's Fortnight and others

By Elizabeth von Arnim

cover image of Complete Works of Elizabeth von Arnim. Volume1. (12 Books). Illustrated

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Elizabeth von Arnim, born Mary Annette Beauchamp, was an English novelist. Born in Australia, she married a German aristocrat, and her earliest works are set in Germany. Arnim launched her career as a writer with her satirical and semi-autobiographical Elizabeth and Her German Garden. Published anonymously, it chronicled the protagonist Elizabeth's struggles to create a garden on the family estate and her attempts to integrate into German aristocratic Junker society. In it, she fictionalized her husband as "The Man of Wrath". It was reprinted twenty times by May 1899, a year after its publication. A bitter-sweet memoir and companion to it was The Solitary Summer. Other works, such as The Benefactress The Adventures of Elizabeth on Rügen Vera and Love were also semi-autobiographical. Some titles ensued that deal with protest against domineering Junkertum and witty observations of life in provincial Germany, including The Princess Priscilla's Fortnight and Fräulein Schmidt and Mr Anstruther. She would sign her twenty or so books, after the first, initially as "by the author of Elizabeth and Her German Garden" and later simply as "By Elizabeth". In 1909, The Princess Priscilla's Fortnight was turned into a play called The Cottage in the Air, and in 1929 into the film The Runaway Princess, directed by Anthony Asquith and starring Mady Christians. Although Arnim never wrote a conventional autobiography, All the Dogs of My Life, an account of her love for her pets, contains many glimpses of her glittering social circle. Contents: 1. Elizabeth and Her German Garden (1898) 2. The Solitary Summer (1899) 3. The April Baby's Book of Tunes (1900) (Illustrated by Kate Greenaway) 4. The Benefactress (1901) 5. Princess Priscilla's Fortnight (1905) 6. Fräulein Schmidt and Mr Anstruther (1907) 7. The Pastor's Wife (1914) 8. Christine (1917) (written under the pseudonym Alice Cholmondeley) 9. Christopher and Columbus (1919) 10. In the Mountains (1920) 11. Vera (1921) 12. The Enchanted April (1922)
Complete Works of Elizabeth von Arnim. Volume1. (12 Books). Illustrated