A Friend Like Henry

ebook The Remarkable True Story of an Autistic Boy and the Dog That Unlocked His World

By Nuala Gardner

cover image of A Friend Like Henry

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

"This touching story is an emotional rollercoaster."—Book Review

The New York Times bestselling story of a boy, his dog, and the love that changed their lives forever.

When Jamie and Nuala Gardner chose a puppy for their son, Dale, they weren't an ordinary family choosing an ordinary pet. Dale was on the autism spectrum and his parents were desperate to support him—after being shuttled between ineffective, even callous healthcare professionals, they would try anything to support their son. As a nonverbal child Dale fought to be understood, and his parents would do anything to help their son process the world around him and break out of his own mind.

But after years of constant effort and slow progress, the Gardners' lives were transformed when they welcomed a new member into the family, Henry, a gorgeous golden retriever puppy. The old adage is true: good things do come in small packages. One small puppy and the bond he formed with Dale would change the whole family's lives...

An inspirational feel-good book about family, mental health, and empathy, A Friend Like Henry is perfect for readers of Marley and Me, Until Tuesday, and The Reason I Jump.

Praise for A Friend Like Henry:

"Emotionally charged, this is a story that raises powerful issues in a deeply personal and insightful manner."—Irish Examiner

"The incredible story of a family with an autistic son, Dale, who conquers his disability thanks to the special bond he forms with Henry, a golden retriever puppy ... This is a fascinating and inspiring real-life account."—Woman & Home

Available to buy

A Friend Like Henry