THE LAUGHING CAVALIER (& Its Sequel the First Sir Percy)

ebook Historical Adventure Novels, Prequels to Scarlet Pimpernel

By Emma Orczy

cover image of THE LAUGHING CAVALIER (& Its Sequel the First Sir Percy)

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Find this title in Libby, the library reading app by OverDrive.

app-store-button-en.svg play-store-badge-en.svg

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

"The First Sir Percy" is a sequel to The Laughing Cavalier, occurring a few months after the events in the first book. It is March 1624 in Holland. Two months earlier, a mercenary who calls himself "Diogenes" foiled the plot on the life of the Stadtholder, Prince of Orange. Now, he has finally met his real father, an English nobleman, and realized his true identity as Sir Percy Blake of Blakeney, heir to a large estate in Sussex. "The Laughing Cavalier" revolves around Percy Blake, a foreign adventurer and ancestor of the famous Scarlet Pimpernel. In March 1623, the Dutch nobleman Willem, Lord of Stoutenburg, is on the run. His father, the statesman Johan was falsely accused of treason and sent to the gallows by the Stadtholder, Prince of Orange. Willem's brother Reinier has since been arrested and executed for plotting to kill the Prince. Stoutenburg is now a fugitive and determined to get his revenge.

Available to buy

Amazon logo
THE LAUGHING CAVALIER (& Its Sequel the First Sir Percy)