cover image of Vathek

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

A chilling addition to the Haunted Library of Horror Classics.

When you have all you could ever want—power, wealth, influence, status—what's left to wish for?

First published in 1786, William Beckford's classic tale combines the lush setting of The Arabian Nights with a gothic nightmare. Vathek, the fierce ninth caliph of the Abassides, has the world at his feet. Nothing is beyond his grasp, until a hideous stranger sells him glowing swords with letters on them that cannot be translated even by experts—because the letters keep changing as if by magic!

Obsessed with obtaining the stranger's knowledge, Vathek undertakes an increasingly horrific search as he ventures into the underworld, meeting demons and witches. Will anything be enough to turn him from his foolish and terrifying quest? Or will the lust for power prove too strong to resist?

Featuring an introduction by acclaimed writer Joe R. Lansdale, the Haunted Library of Horror Classics is proud to present this classic gothic horror novel.

A timeless exploration of power, greed, and often elusive redemption, this shining example of literary occult horror poses the question: are the answers to ancient secrets worth your soul?

  • Perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe and Bram Stoker
  • For readers who enjoy classical literature and horror novels
  • Collect all of the Haunted Library of Horror Classics
  • Available to buy

    Amazon logo
    Vathek