The Wife Upstairs

ebook A Novel

By Rachel Hawkins

cover image of The Wife Upstairs

Sign up to save your library

With an OverDrive account, you can save your favorite libraries for at-a-glance information about availability. Find out more about OverDrive accounts.

   Not today

Search for a digital library with this title

Title found at these libraries:

Loading...

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

"Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." ––EW

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN

  • Newsweek
  • Vulture
  • PopSugar
  • Parade
  • BuzzFeed
  • E!Online
  • TimeOut
  • Woman's Day
  • Goodreads
  • She Reads
  • Good Housekeeping
  • CrimeReads
  • Frolic
  • Hello!
  • Mystery and Suspense
    January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick
    A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.
    Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.
    But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for.
    Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?
    With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

  • Available to buy

    Amazon logo
    The Wife Upstairs